CORVALLIS, Ore. - A total of 68 new students have been admitted to the University Honors College this fall term at Oregon State University.

The college was established last year to help challenge motivated and academically gifted students at OSU, according to Joe Hendricks, director of the college.

Hendricks said the OSU program has attracted a number of top students, not only because of its rigorous academic standards, but because of its unique structure. Students may seek a major in any of Oregon State's 11 colleges and be eligible for OSU's University Honors College. Most other honors programs focus solely on the humanities.

New students admitted for the 1996-97 academic year include: ALBANY: Sam Morris, College of Business; Sarah L. Normandin, College of Science

ALOHA: Joseph Z. Gorman, College of Engineering

BEAVERTON: George N. Fkiaras, College of Engineering

BEND: Jess Anthony Campagna, College of Engineering; Jeffrey S. Patterson, College of Business

BORING: Stephanie Marie Root, College of Forestry

BROOKINGS: Joseph M. Blank, College of Engineering

CANBY: Irini Mekheil Sahuon, College of Science

COOS BAY: Anastasia R. Hampton, College of Pharmacy

CORVALLIS: Laura Anderson, College of Science; SreyRam Kuy, College of Science; Anthony Michael Amandi, University Exploratory Study; Taylor Black, College of Science; Laurel Ann Hall, College of Science; Paul Steven Harding, College of Engineering; Benjamin Joel Harding, College of Engineering; Scott McGregor, College of Engineering

COVE: Jana Lee Reitmajer, College of Science

DEXTER: Sarah Jane Hucka, College of Forestry

ELMIRA: Jennifer Colleen Conrad, College of Science

EUGENE: Miriam Lambert, College of Science; Ariana Sutton, College of Science; Michael Tyler, College of Engineering

GARIBALDI: Rachael Pecore, College of Science

GLADSTONE: Jessina Luiz, College of Science

GLENDALE: Katherine Elizabeth Hubler, College of Science

GRANTS PASS: Juel Leanne Thompson, College of Science

HOOD RIVER: Aaron Daniel Anderson, College of Science

IRRIGON: Robert Jason Brown, College of Science

KEIZER: Ryan Patrick Seery, College of Business

LAKE OSWEGO: Alison Oliverio, University Exploratory Study

LEBANON: Kathleen Marie Harding, College of Science

LINCOLN CITY: Mica Olsen, College of Home Economics and Education

McMINNVILLE: James Allen Kirby Jr., College of Engineering

MEDFORD: Emily Wilbur, College of Engineering

MILWAUKIE: Daniel Robert Webert, College of Liberal Arts

MOLALLA: Kristopher William Zyp, College of Engineering

NORTH BEND: Kelsey Marie Kent, College of Liberal Arts

OREGON CITY: Eric Scott Baker, College of Engineering; Eric Brett MacKender, College of Engineering

PORTLAND: Daniel Kaleolani John Chong (97230-2147), College of Engineering; Melanie Griffith (97214), College of Liberal Arts; Justin Schonfeld (97221-3518), College of Engineering; Melissa Ann Wick (97229-8349), College of Engineering

REDMOND: Ravi Mohan Puri, College of Liberal Arts

SALEM: Joseph Edward Ellis, College of Science; Elijah Allen Schutz, College of Engineering; Erin Sue Sundermier, College of Science

SCAPPOOSE: Phillip Michael Hoff, College of Engineering

SILETZ: Barbara A. Hower, College of Science

THE DALLES: Meghan Anne Coats, College of Liberal Arts; Elizabeth Amber Grove, College of Health and Human Performance

TIGARD: Gary Michael Morris, College of Business

TUALATIN: Marissa Danielle Butler, University Exploratory Study; Amanda Marie Combs, College of Home Economics and Education

VIDA: Sara Ann Marino, College of Liberal Arts

WALDPORT: Jerrod P. Peterson, College of Engineering WEST LINN: Diana Buccafurni, College of Science; Andrew Michael Kalman, College of Science

WINCHESTER: Michael Stephen Crowe, College of Science

WOODBURN: Jefferey Adam Drago, College of Forestry; Kyle John Shaver, College of Science



AUKE BAY: Kerry Ann Fujioka, College of Engineering



PALO CEDRO: Farah Shirin Nowain, College of Science



CEDAR HILL: Brian Davis Hubler, College of Engineering

KINGWOOD: Mariah Rose Baker, College of Science



NEWCASTLE: Peter Nathan Westfahl, College of Science

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Joe Hendricks, 541-737-6400