CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences recently recognized several top students for their outstanding scholarship and service during the 1996-97 academic year.

Elizabeth Howard, a senior from Silverton, received the Burlingham Undergraduate Student of Excellence Award. Amy M. Martin, Kent, was named the Capital Press Outstanding Senior in Agriculture. Heather Scheck, a Ph.D. student in Corvallis, received the Savery Outstanding Graduate Student Award.

Howard will complete her bachelor's degree in agricultural and resource economics in 1998. She was recognized for her exceptional academic achievement and for service to OSU through participation in many collegiate clubs and activities. She plans to attend Lewis and Clark University Law School following graduation from OSU. Her $1,000 cash award was given by the Burlingham family of Woodburn.

Martin, majoring in both fisheries science and wildlife science, completed her degree at the end of spring term 1997. In addition to her many extracurricular activities in the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences, Martin has participated as a member of the OSU women's crew team. In 1996, Martin was chosen by the OSU athletic department as a nominee for the 1996 NCAA Female Athlete of the Year. Martin received a $1,000 cash award and a one-year subscription to the Capital Press.

Scheck is working on her Ph.D. in botany and plant pathology and expects to complete her thesis by the end of July 1997. Her graduate research focused on the management of bacterial blight diseases on woody ornamentals. Stella Coakley, head of the OSU Department of Botany and Plant Pathology, noted that "Scheck's contributions to the control of these diseases will have a long-lasting significance."

The Savery Outstanding Graduate Student award, given by the Agricultural Research Foundation, recognizes graduate students whose research benefits Oregon agriculture and natural resources. The award includes a $1,000 cash prize.

Named to the College of Agricultural Sciences' Registry of Distinguished students were:


Rex D. King


Aurora Zamora


Jeanne Marlowe


Corey M. Maag


Tiffany A. Neal


Paul D. Meints


Harold E. Seely

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Thayne Dutson, 541-737-2331