CORVALLIS - The E.R. Jackman Foundation has awarded $33,912 to benefit student agricultural clubs at Oregon State University. The foundation also has appointed new board members.

Comprised of 25 volunteers from around Oregon, the foundation works with the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences' development office to raise money to benefit programs. Three departments or projects and 13 student clubs will receive a portion of the money. Among the grantees are:


  • OSU's livestock judging team, which will have money to participate in the regional Future Farmers of America contest.


  • The dairy judging team, which will be able to host a Youth Field Day and a summer tour of dairies in western Washington and the upper Willamette Valley.


  • The Ag and Resource Economics-Agribusiness Management Club, which will use the grant to participate in the American Agricultural Economics Association's annual meeting and quiz bowl in San Antonio, Texas.

New board members elected to three-year terms are:


  • Carolyn Homan, the managing editor of the Capital-Press newspaper in Salem. Before working for this large agricultural newspaper, Homan worked in OSU's Department of News and Communication Services.


  • Ray McNeilan, who retired in 1996 after 32 years as a Multnomah County Extension agent. Long involved in the Master Gardener Program at OSU, McNeilan is the author of a book on vegetable gardening in the Northwest.


  • Don Poole, who with this family produces beef, pears, apple and cherries on their farm in the Hood River Valley. Poole also is a refrigeration engineer at the Diamond Fruit Co. He has served as a 4-H leader, an FFA advisory board member, and a member of the Hood River Growers-Shippers Association.

New officers elected are: president, Tom Rietmann of Condon, who will be serving for his second year; first vice president and chair of the fund-raising committee: Kathy Panner of Riddle; second vice president and chair of the allocation committee, Paul Montecucco of Canby; past president, Dru Sloop of West Linn.

Board members who have finished their service and moved to honorary board member status include: Marnie Anderson, Ione; Wayne Mosher, Salem, and Bryan Wolfe, Hermiston. Elected to the executive committee were Marjorie Luce, Ashland; Nancy Hendricks, Scio; Bob Mace, Central Point; Tim Root, Medford; Ann Tracy, Lakeview, and Glenn Wilson, Aumsville.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Pam Powell, 541-737-2665