CORVALLIS--The Oregon State University Extension Association recognized several Extension educators with awards at its recent annual conference.

Vicki Osis, Extension marine education specialist, and Carolyn Cannon and Pat Aune, Multnomah County Extension home economics agents, received the 1998 Alberta B. Johnston Award for Excellence in Extension Education.

Osis was cited for her efforts to improve the teaching of marine science in public schools and to provide advanced teacher education in science. Cannon and Aune were recognized for their work with the Oregon Family Nutrition Program, which teaches low income families how to effectively use their available food resources to provide a nutritious, healthy diet.

Sheri Taylor, a 4-H Youth Program assistant in the Multnomah County Extension office, received the Professional Educational Program Assistant Award for her work with school enrichment programs at 130 schools in Multnomah County and for promoting the use of 4-H science, horticulture and environmental programs in the schools.

Lee Ila Lewis, office specialist in the Multnomah County Extension office, received the Classified Staff award for the outstanding quality of her work and her commitment to providing excellent customer service.

Amy Peters and Mike Reichenbach, both OSU Extension agents; and Beverly Hobbs and Mike Borman, OSU Extension specialists, received Newer Faculty Awards, given to Extension faculty who demonstrate high standards of excellence in program content, scholarship and community service.

Peters, an Extension agent for livestock, dairy and forages in Coos and Curry counties, was cited for the overall excellence of her educational programs and particularly for her work on emerging water quality and livestock issues.

Reichenbach, an Extension forestry agent in Marion, Polk and Yamhill counties, was recognized for his innovative use of computerized databases to provide effective programs to woodland owners in the three counties.

Hobbs, a 4-H Youth specialist, was honored for her work in developing 4-H programs for youngsters in kindergarten through third grade and other youth who have not been traditionally involved in 4-H.

Borman, an Extension rangeland resources specialist, was cited for conducting an Extension program that reaches throughout the state and for educating landowners about Oregon water quality standards and the influence of land management activities on water quality.

Roy Hamilton and Marilyn Moore, both OSU Extension agents, and Russ Karow, an OSU Extension specialist, received Experienced Faculty Awards, which recognize superior and distinguished achievement by faculty with more than six years experience.

Hamilton, Extension 4-H agent and staff chair in Union County, was cited for the impact he has had on 4-H programs and participants at the county, state and national level during his 29-year career.

Moore, Extension 4-H and agriculture agent in Malheur County, was honored for her work with 4-H natural resource programs and for her introduction of poplar trees as an alternative crop for Malheur County farmers.

Karow, Extension cereals specialist, was recognized for the excellence of ongoing programs, including the statewide cereal variety testing program and the Columbia Basin wheat seminars, and for his response to crises such as threat posed by the Russian wheat aphid and barley strip rust.

Nellie Oehler, Extension home economics agent in Lane County, received the $750 Dale and Alice Hoecker Continued Service Award for Experienced Faculty. A member of the OSU Extension faculty since 1965, Oehler was cited for her work with the Extension Master Food Preserver Program and the Family Community Leadership Program that trains citizens to become involved in public policy issues.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Jim Hermes, 541-727-2254