CORVALLIS - Leaders in agricultural commodity organizations, educators, research scientists, fishery biologists, and farmers are included in the 28 men and women who were recently honored honored as 1998 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

The 1998 class will be added to the college's Diamond Pioneer Registry that honors those 75 and older for their contributions to agriculture and natural resources. The registry started in 1983 when the college observed its 75th anniversary.

Those to be honored are Frank Tubbs, Adams; Bob Thomas, Baker City; Clive Cook, Canby; John Yungen, Central Point; Steve Besse, William G. Brown, Joe Capizzi, Emery Castle, Edith Miller, Louis Oester and Jackson Ross, Corvallis; John T. Jones, Cove; Robert Morgan, Gleneden Beach; George Van Leeuwen, Halsey; Dick and Virginia Wilkinson, Heppner; Remi Coussens and Amos Rich, Hillsboro; Stan Weishaar, La Grande; Max Barlow, Nyssa; Lou Levy, Pendleton; The Rev. Dominic Broxmeyer, St. Benedict; Herman Goschie and Paul Mann, Silverton; Robert Humphreys, Sublimity; Glen McKenzie, Summerville; Frederick Cramer, The Dalles; and Austin Hamer, Redmond, Wash.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Judy Modrell, 541-737-5822