CORVALLIS - The College of Liberal Arts at Oregon State University honored its top faculty to begin the academic year, and the awards included a $10,000 stipend with the CLA Excellence Award, given to Paul Farber.

Farber, who chairs the Department of History, was cited for his work as an administrator, teacher and scholar, and for his contributions to the university. He developed the university's History of Science program, which now awards master's and doctoral degrees, and has helped the department become nationally recognized.

The award is funded by the CLA Advisory Council, a group of liberal arts alumni who provide guidance and advice to the college dean, Kay Schaffer. An anonymous donor increased the amount of the award this year to $10,000.

Several other staff and faculty also were honored.

Sarah Ann Hones, student services coordinator for the Department of Art, received the Outstanding Staff Award. She was cited for development of a tracking system to help students keep on schedule as they near graduation.

Shiao-ling Yu, an associate professor of Chinese language and culture, received the ECLAT Faculty Development Award, sponsored by emeritus CLA faculty. She recently began a new research project to determine the effect of American drama on social change in China.

Richard George, an associate professor of speech communication, received the C. Warren Hovland Service Award for his contributions to the theater experiences of the university, Corvallis, and the region. He has worked with the University Theatre program for years, teaching students and designing sets for various theatrical productions.

The Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award was presented to Vicki Collins for her work as director of the Writing Intensive Curriculum. She was cited for the interconnection of her teaching, research and administrative efforts.

Sharing the CLA Researcher of the Year Award were Lori Cramer, an associate professor of sociology, and Yuji Hiratsuka, an associate professor of art. Cramer was cited for her ability to attract grants (more than $324,000), and her publishing record in the field of natural resource sociology. Hiratsuka was cited for his creative abilities and the integration of his work into teaching and service.

David Brauner, an associate professor of anthropology, received the Thomas R. Meehan Excellence in Teaching Award for inspiring students and creating compelling learning opportunities for them in cultural resource management and historic archaeology.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Rebecca Foster, 541-737-4580