CORVALLIS - The Society of American Foresters recently made two of its top annual awards to scientists at Oregon State University for their outstanding contributions to the forestry profession.

A. Scott Reed, associate dean for extended education in the OSU College of Forestry, received the 1999 Technology Transfer and Extension Award for his state, regional and national leadership in forestry Extension and technology transfer.

Reed leads the nationally recognized forestry Extension program at OSU that provides 40-50 workshops and short courses every year, and has played an important role in elevating forestry Extension at the national level. He received his doctorate from the University of Minnesota in 1987 and has been at OSU since 1990.

Darius M. Adams, an OSU professor of forest resources, received the 1999 Award in Forest Science for his career contributions over a period of 25 years to the field of forest economics.

Adams has developed econometric models that can be used by scientists, managers and analysts to better understand and forecast the relationships among timber supply, market forces and policy alternatives. He is especially known for the creation of the Timber Assessment Market Model, or TAMM. Adams received his doctorate from the University of California at Berkeley in 1972 and has been on the OSU faculty since 1995.

Both these awards include a plaque and $1,000 honorarium. The Society of American Foresters represents almost 18,000 professional foresters and natural resource professionals across the nation.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Jennifer Plyler, 301-897-8720