CORVALLIS - The Oregon 4-H Ambassador program has invited 121 outstanding Oregon 4-H members from across the state to participate in its activities during the coming year.

"This group represents 4-H members from 26 counties and reflects a steady rise in 4-H participation in recent years," said Jim Rutledge, Oregon State University Extension 4-H youth program leader. In 1999, more than 55,000 young people took part in 4-H programs.

"Participation in the Ambassador program is the highest honor a 4-H member can earn," Rutledge said.

The ambassadors play an important role in the OSU Extension 4-H Youth Program. They promote the 4-H Program throughout the state and provide leadership for a variety of state, county and local activities. Included among those activities are giving talks about 4-H to community groups, setting up 4-H displays in stores and shopping centers, promoting 4-H activities on radio and television talk shows, and recruiting new 4-H members.

The new ambassadors will learn more about their responsibilities at the 4-H Ambassador Weekend, June 16-18, at Linfield College in McMinnville. During the weekend, they will hear motivational speakers, and participate in several leadership and communications workshops to prepare for their duties as new ambassadors. Many of the delegates will also interview for the honor of representing Oregon 4-H at the 2000 National 4-H Congress in Atlanta in November.

Sponsors for the 4-H Ambassador Weekend include the Oregon Farm Credit System, the Oregon 4-H Foundation, and the Extension 4-H Youth Program at Oregon State University.

Invited to become 2000 Oregon 4-H Ambassadors are:

ALBANY Lynette Caswell, Robin Wise


ASTORIA Holly Brause, Jennifer Lacy

ATHENA Trish Glover, Jaime Hancock

AUMSVILLE Erica Debellis

BAKER CITY Calrissa Kauth

BEAVER Heidi Pearn

BEAVERTON Theresa Morgan

BEND Becky Schmidt

BORING Angela Buckwalter, Paige Brown, Ruby Farwell


CLOVERDALE Rachel Hopkes

COBURG Melissa Mosier, R. D. Mosier


CORVALLIS Carrie Gray, Heather Brink-Roby, Leslie Charles, Sarah Greer, Jessica Pliskin, Amy Sachs

COVE Brandon Ritter

CRESWELL Melyna Randall, Josh Wesley

DALLAS Ben Brooks, Meghan Brooks

EAGLE POINT Starla Arnold, Colleen Heider

ENTERPRISE Keely Hopkins, Jennifer Williams

EUGENE Jason Magnuson, Ryan Magnuson

GASTON Noelle Graham

GERVAIS Michael Jirges

GRESHAM Jessica Hadley, Teresa Rutz, Matt Thomas

HEPNER Julie Proctor, Shelley Rietmann

HERMISTON Laurie Fialka, Julie Glenn


IONE Shelby Krebs

IRRIGON Mari Close

KEIZER Sarah Boatner, Kathy Hughes


LA GRANDE Kimberly Hescock

LOSTINE Brandy Shelton

LOWELL Nacole Hunter

MADRAS Caroline Weber

MEDFORD Angela Brenhaug, Adam Bunch

MERLIN Malloree Enoch, Monica Weber

MONMOUTH Karyn Ostrom, Jayne Peters

MOUNT ANGEL Bonnie Jones

NEHALEM Joel Collett, Megan Gallusser

NEWBERG Fairlight Ankeny, Karlina Christensen

NEWPORT Sarah Butterfield

PHILOMATH Merlin Theurer

PILOT ROCK JaDee VanHouten

PORTLAND Isidro Aguilar, 97203; Domingo Castro, 97203; Araceli Reyes, 97203; David Rodrique, 97203; Mar`ia Vazquez, 97203; Alicia Bolster, 97206; Angela Bolster, 97206; Elizabeth Durham, 97206; Leela Davis, 97213; Cheryl Robbins, 97216; Ellen Council, 97218; Kelly Shay, 97266; Melissa Chee, 97229; Laurel Nugent, 97229


RAINIER Aftan Rehling, Jordan Stebbins, Jared Villhauer

REDMOND Jessica Haavisto, Andrea Sunday

ROSEBURG Brent Brizendine, Kyle Henrikson, Brent Weber

ST. HELENS Lacy Ogan

SALEM Tiffany Andersen, Bryan Gonzalez, Megan Howell, Jed Lowrie, Krista McDowell, Erin Murphy, Jeff Reeves

SCIO Becky Pape

SILVERTON Kyle Fischer

SUBLIMITY Laura Marchbanks

SUMMERVILLE Rebecca Bushman

TILLAMOOK Derrick Josi, Julie Peters, Holly Smith, Tifany White

TURNER Jenny Galvin

UNION Ace Clark, Jennifer Dodds, Jake Stockhoff, Christy Upshaw

VERNONIA Veronica Pelster

WALDPORT Tiffany Johnson

WARREN Emma Kummer

WESTON Tanner Perrine

WILLIAMS Ruthie Gloria

WOODBURN Eryn Blehm, Mark Shaver

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Jim Rutledge, 541-737-1737