CORVALLIS - A six-member team from Oregon State University has been selected as one of 40 groups from colleges and universities throughout the country to participate in a two-year project designed to enhance diversity knowledge and acceptance in higher education.

The project, "Boundaries and Borderlands III: The Search for Recognition and Community in America," begins with a 10-day conference in July at Brown University in Rhode Island. It is sponsored by the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

The OSU team was selected because of the university's willingness to address diversity with changes in curriculum, said Susan Shaw, interim director of the OSU Difference, Power and Discrimination Program, and leader of the OSU team.

Other team members are: Larry Roper, vice provost for Student Affairs; Donna Champeau, assistant professor of health and human performance; Ken Williamson, professor, civil, construction and environmental engineering; Ann Schauber, Extension Service diversity leader; Janet Nishihara, counseling and academic coordinator in the Educational Opportunities Program.

The specific goal for OSU's team is to increase the offerings of Difference, Power and Discrimination Program courses outside OSU's College of Liberal Arts, Shaw said. The campus Difference, Power and Discrimination Program works to create curriculum addressing race, class, gender, sexual orientation, and other institutionalized systems of inequality. It also gives OSU faculty and staff training and resources to develop or modify comparative diversity courses.

Broader goals of the Boundaries and Borderlands project include creation of curriculum to develop citizenship and tolerance for diverse communities, as well as help higher education incorporate respect for differences and diversity into the institutional mission.

Teams will examine curriculum developed at institutions across the country, learn the latest research on the impact of diversity on student learning, and attend workshops on student affairs. Support for the program is provided by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.

Other universities participating include Bryn Mawr, Miami University - Ohio, and University of Louisville.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Susan Shaw, 541-737-3082