CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University Extension Association honored Extension faculty for their dedication, innovation and contributions during the OSUEA 2000 awards ceremony.

This fall, 10 Extension specialists from seven counties received recognition in five professional categories. The individual award winners are:

  • John Faudskar, a marine resources expert with the Tillamook County Extension Service's Sea Grant office, received the Alberta B. Johnston Award for outstanding leadership. Faudskar's many accomplishments during his 28-year career with Tillamook County included a role in establishing the Tillamook Bay National Estuary Program.


  • Gail Glick Andrews, an OSU Extension water quality specialist, won the OSUEA Professional Faculty Award for her good work as coordinator of the Home*A*Syst Well Water Protection Program. The program teaches homeowners how to avoid inadvertently contaminating their well water and how to recognize signs of contamination.
  • Holly Berry, a Marion County Extension specialist and head of the Master Food Preservation program, received the Dale and Alice Hoecker Continued Service Award for her excellent leadership. Berry has long trained volunteers to teach safe food preparation in Marion, Polk and Yamhill counties. She recently launched a safety program called Las Comidas Latinas. The course for Spanish-speaking clients focuses on culturally-specific food preparation techniques.

Winners of the OSUEA Newer Staff Awards are:


  • Joy Jones, for revitalizing the 4-H Youth Development Program and the General Agriculture Program in Tillamook County. Her co-workers said Jones was tireless in helping the local agricultural community during the devastating floods of Spring 1996.
  • Sally Bowman, an OSU Extension Family Development Specialist based at OSU, Bowman identifies important needs of the elderly poor and families. Since 1998, Bowman has secured more than $350,000 in grants to assist such people in need. 
  • Janet Nagele, a Clackamas County 4-H Youth Development specialist, won for her program to train 51 teachers about 4-H youth programs. The teachers were able to relay the information to their 4,500 students.
  • Troy Downing, the Tillamook County Extension staff chairman and district dairy agent, won for involving diverse populations in Extension programs in his four-county region.

The OSUEA Experienced Staff Award winners were:

  • Ginny Goblirsch, Marine Extension agent in Lincoln County. The wife of a fisherman, won for establishing relevant programs for the fishing community that range from net mending to conflict management. 
  • Mareen Hosty, the 4-H Natural Resource agent for Multnomah, Clackamas and Washington counties, is nationally recognized for her successful implementation of the 4-H Wildlife Stewards school program. Teachers, students and parents learn how they can transform plots of urbanized land near school yards and back yards into lush habitat for birds, insects and other small wildlife.
  • Patricia Dawson, a Umatilla County 4-H Extension agent, won for the difference she has made to the young people in her area. Ten years ago, Dawson created the Hispanic Youth Leadership Program to find ways of encouraging young people to graduate high school. Graduation rates have been on the increase ever since. Dawson's energy is largely responsible for doubling the number of 4-H volunteers in her area.

Special Recognition Awards were presented to:

  • Joan Bird, the office manager and goodwill ambassador at OSU's Sherman County Extension Service office, won the OSU Exemplary Employee Award. Although their work often sends the Sherman County agents to far-flung rural locales, Bird ensures that callers to the office receive timely, cordial answers to all of their inquiries. 
  • Ron Hathaway, chairman of OSU's Klamath County Extension Service office, won the OSU Extended Education Faculty Award for his outstanding service and contributions.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Sandy Macnab, 541-565-3230