By Mark Floyd, 541-737-0788
SOURCE: Leslie Burns, 541-737-0983

CORVALLIS - Two Oregon State University faculty members were honored with top awards at the national meeting of the International Textile and Apparel Association, which is the primary professional organization of textile and apparel scholars.

Nancy Bryant, a professor in the Department of Apparel, Interiors, Housing and Merchandising, received the Robert Hillestad Award for Distinguished Lifetime Achievement in Design and Aesthetics. The award honors creativity in the design process, scholarly activity, and service to the organization.

Bryant is well known in the field for creating "wearable art" with her innovative apparel designs, which have won numerous regional and national awards.

Leslie Burns, also a professor in the AIHM department, received the Bobbin Educator of the Year Award. Sponsored by Bobbin magazine, the award honors exemplary teaching, research and service, as well as a given track record for encouraging students to consider employment in the industry.

An interview with Burns is featured in the December issue of the magazine.



Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Leslie Burns, 541-737-0983