CORVALLIS - At a recent campus ceremony Oregon State University's College of Agricultural Sciences presented awards for outstanding achievement to faculty and staff members and a multi-university and multi-agency project team.

Those recognized:

  • Hood River

    Audrey Hubbard, grants and contracts technician at OSU's Columbia Basin Research and Extension Center, received a Classified Employee Award for outstanding performance.

    Helmut Riedl, an entomologist at the Columbia Basin Research and Extension Center, received the Excellence in International Agriculture Award. 

  • Ontario
    Ben Simko, an agricultural agent with the OSU Extension Service's Malheur County Office, received the Award for Excellence in Extension Education. 
  • Union
    Timothy DelCurto, superintendent of the Eastern Oregon Agricultural Research Center's Union Station, received the Savery Outstanding Young Faculty Award.
  • Corvallis
    Lee Ann Julson, an office specialist in OSU's Department of Horticulture, received a Classified Employee Award for outstanding performance.
    Fred Obermiller, a professor in OSU's Agricultural and Resource Economics, received the R. M. Wade Award for Excellence in Teaching.
    Bruce Coblentz and Stan Gregory of OSU's Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, and Ann Marie VanDerZanden of the Department of Horticulture, were named to the College of Agricultural Sciences' Registry of Distinguished Teachers.
    Christopher Mundt, a professor in OSU's Department of Botany and Plant Pathology, received the F.E. Price/Agricultural Research Foundation Award for Excellence in Research.
    Nan Scott, a senior instructor in OSU's Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, received the F.E. Price/Agricultural Research Foundation Award for Excellence in Student Advising/Counseling.

    Other Awards
    The Pacific Northwest Ecosystem Research Consortium, made up of personnel from several universities, federal agencies and private companies, received the James and Mildred Oldfield/E.R. Jackman Team Award.

    Goals of the consortium include understanding the consequences of possible societal decisions in the Pacific Northwest on human populations and ecosystems, and developing tools that will support management of ecosystems in the region. Members of the team: Chip Andrus, Tom Moser and John Van Sickle, Dynamac Corporation, Corvallis; Linda Ashkenas, Peter Bayley, Stanley Gregory, Judith Li, Alan Herlihy, Kelly Wildman and Randy Wildman, the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, OSU; John Bolte, Department of Bioresources Engineering, OSU; David Hulse, Susan Payne, Allan Branscomb and David Diethelm, the Institute for a Sustainable Environment, University of Oregon; Joan Baker, Steve Cline, Dixon Landers, Nathan Schumaker, Rich Sumner, Denis White and Jim Wigington, the EPA research laboratory, Corvallis; Ed Whitelaw, Michelle Gall and Ernie Niemi, Ecosystem Northwest, Eugene; Rick E. Edwards, David Montgomery, Loveday L. Conquest and Charles Simenstad, the University of Washington; Warren Cohen and Doug Oetter, the USDA Forest Service's Forest Research Laboratory, Corvallis; Pete Bisson, the U.S. Forest Service, Olympia, Wash.; Sam Fernald, the National Research Council, Washington, D.C., and David Dole, the National Center for Environmental Economics, Washington, D.C.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Loretta Austin, 541-737-5813