CORVALLIS - Innovative agricultural producers, 4-H leaders, agricultural organization leaders, scientists whose research played key roles in the development of Oregon agriculture and agricultural communicators are among the 31 men and women named 2001 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

Their community contributions include service as county commissioners, school board members, state legislators, and officers of financial and conservation groups.

The 31 men and women will be honored Thursday, Oct. 18, at a luncheon in their honor hosted by Thayne Dutson, dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences. The luncheon will be in OSU's CH2M-Hill Alumni Center.

The college's Diamond Pioneer Registry recognizes contributions to agriculture, natural resources, OSU and communities by those 75 and older.

Being honored are Ralph Ward, Baker City; Elmer Humphrey, Bellfountain; Dorothy Krebs, Boardman; James Burr, Bend; Clifford Holmes, Canby; Sam Bailey, Charles Baird, Ralph Garren, Jr., Harry Lagerstedt and Ralph Salisbury, Corvallis.

Aliene Fallesen, Crabtree; William Stevenson, Jr., Eugene; John Mulholland, Gaston; Liz VanLeeuwen, Halsey; Raymond French, Heppner; Ruth Pasley, Hillsboro; Ralph Kirby and Allen Moore, Hood River; Joe Hobson, Sr., Keizer; James Brunner, Medford.

Joe Saito, John Stubstad and Yasu Teramura, Ontario; Arthur Staehely, Oregon City; Tom Hartung, Portland; Richard Nelsen, Prineville; Don Bailey, Roseburg; Mark Gehlar, Salem; George Carlon, Summer Lake; Earl Newport, Waldport; Murray Dawson, Monroe, Wash.; Paul Berger, Vancouver, Wash., and Dale Sadler, Pryor, Okla.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Loretta Austin, 541-737-5813