CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University Agricultural Experiment Station, headquartered on the campus in Corvallis, will observe the centennial of the creation of its first branch station Saturday, Sept. 22, at Union in northeastern Oregon.

The OSU Agricultural Experiment Station now operates 11 branches around Oregon. Here is a brief description of those facilities, including the year each was established:

  • Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center - The center has three research sub-units: potato variety development, horticultural production and quality, and integrated pest management. A recently hired aquatic entomologist will collaborate with researchers at OSU's coastal branch station by studying inland influences on the lives of salmon and other aquatic creatures. Established in 1909. 
  • Oregon Research and Extension Center, Medford - Research focuses on pear production, pest control and storage. Scientists also study wine grapes and search for alternative crops for that part of southern Oregon. Established in 1910.
  • Mid-Columbia Research and Extension Center, Hood River - Scientists focus on pear and cherry crops, as well as on fruits like apples and peaches. Established in 1913. 
  • Columbia Basin Agricultural Research Center, Pendleton (has a division at Moro called the Sherman Station) - Researchers study the production, diseases and pests of dryland wheat and other grains, and search for alternative crops and farming methods on the area's erosion-sensitive, former desert soils. Established in 1928. 
  • Klamath Agricultural Experiment Station, Klamath Falls - Researchers work with potatoes, sugar beets, cereals and forages, paying close attention to the area's unique soils and harsh climatic conditions, including severe water restrictions. Established in 1939. 
  • Malheur Experiment Station, Ontario - Researchers provide support to farmers producing onions, potatoes, sugar beets, small grains, alfalfa seed and other crops on irrigated land. The station is a leader in developing automated, drip irrigation that saves water. Established in 1942. 
  • Central Oregon Agricultural Research Center, Madras (has a division at Powell Butte) - Scientists study the production of mint; grass, garlic, carrot, radish and other vegetable seed; pasture grass, alfalfa and grain varieties, and search for new crops such as native grasses and forbes. Also, researchers grow experimental potato varieties at the Madras and Powell Butte facilities. Established in 1948. 
  • North Willamette Research and Extension Center, Aurora (just south of Portland )- Researchers study ornamental and nursery crops and small fruits, berries and vegetables. Established in 1952. 
  • Eastern Oregon Agricultural Research Center, Burns (what is now a division, at Union in northeastern Oregon, was the first branch station, established in 1901) - Scientists study how to improve beef cattle production while maintaining or enhancing environmental quality. Ecological studies focus on understanding changes in plants such as juniper and sagebrush communities and the potential impacts of those changes. Established in 1972. 
  • Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station, Newport (has a division in Astoria, the OSU Seafood Laboratory) - At Newport scientists study ocean creatures in support of Oregon's fishing industry. A new emphasis is developing a more holistic view of influences on the lives of salmon (in cooperation with inland researchers at the Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center). At Astoria researchers study seafood processing and safety issues and search for new seafood products. Established in 1989. 
  • Food Innovation Center, Portland - The center is a partnership with the Oregon Department of Agriculture and is dedicated to helping Oregonians add value to raw commodities grown around the state by finding ways to develop and market new products. Established in 2001.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Thayne Dutson, 541-737-2211