CORVALLIS - Arlene Oliver of John Day is among the 41 men and women who were honored as Diamond Pioneers in October by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

She and others to be added to the College's Diamond Pioneer Registry were guests at a luncheon hosted by Dean Thayne Dutson at OSU's CH2M HILL Alumni Center in Corvallis. The guest speaker was John V. Byrne, OSU president emeritus and a fellow 2003 Diamond Pioneer.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Diamond Pioneer Registry, honoring those 75 years and older for their contributions to agriculture, OSU and their communities. The award, begun when the college observed its 75th anniversary, has been given to 746 persons, including this year's group.

The Grand County Stock Growers, the Grant County Extension staff, the Oregon Cattlemen and Cattlewomen and the OSU animal sciences department nominated Oliver for the registry.

Born and raised in Grant County, Oliver worked with her husband, Joseph Oliver, until his death. She is a charter member and past president of both the Grant County CowBelles and Oregon CowBelles organizations and a charter member and past vice president of the national group.

Serving for 10 years on the Grant County Fair Board, in 1999 Oliver spearheaded the county's Family Heritage Foundation to encourage youth participation in county agricultural activities. The foundation is trying to raise $1 million for fairground improvements. More than $700,000 has been raised and a new multi-purpose and livestock building has been built.

In 2001, Oliver received the Oregon Cattlemen's Top Supporter award for her involvement in rural youth activities.

Other Oregonians receiving the award this year are listed by hometown or county: Adams: Virginia Tubbs; Baker City: Fred Warner; Central Point: Kenneth Beebe; Cornelius: Don B. Anderson; Corvallis: Alfred Haunold, John V. Byrne, Charles Leach, William McGuire, H. Joe Myers, Burdette Peterson, Roger Peterson and Dale Weber; Hillsboro: Peter Jensen; Halsey: Vincent D. Dobbin and Glen Grossen; Island City: Ralph Hart; Keizer: Harold Youngberg; Klamath Falls: James Elings and James Kerns; Moro: John Shipley and Donald Thompson; Ontario: Keith Gressley, Isao Kameshige and William Panike; Pendleton: Robert Ramig and Virgil Rupp; Phoenix: David Lowry; Portland: H. Ronald Cameron; Shedd: Len Forster and Floyd Smith; Sisters: Don Grabe; The Dalles: John R. Thienes and Eldon Wagenblast; Tigard: Carl Froude and Beverly Froude; Tillamook: Carl and Irene Bosch; Wamic: Everett Metzentine.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Loretta Austin, 541-737-5813