CORVALLIS - Ken Krane, a professor emeritus of physics at Oregon State University, has received the Robert A. Millikan Award from the American Association of Physics Teachers.

Krane, who retired this year after 30 years on the OSU faculty, received the award at the association's annual meeting. The award honors career achievements in the teaching of physics, as well as contributions to the association and to the physics field.

The OSU professor was cited for his "notable and creative contributions, so various and wide ranging, from writing fine textbooks, to (developing) successful new faculty workshops." He also was cited for his national leadership and extending physics to diverse constituencies.

Krane received numerous awards during his career, including the OSU Alumni Association's Distinguished Faculty Award and the D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award. He is a fellow in the American Physical Society and active in several professional organizations.

He is a former president of the OSU Faculty Senate.

Krane is still active on campus and is halfway through a project to create a national program of workshops for new physics faculty members from colleges and universities throughout the United States. The five-year, $773,311 project was funded by the National Science Foundation.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Henri Jansen, 541-737-1668