CORVALLIS - Thirty-one men and women who have been agricultural innovators, educators and community and organizational leaders were honored this week in Corvallis as 2004 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

Thayne Dutson, dean of the OSU college, inducted the 21st class to the college's Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry during a luncheon Thursday at the OSU Alumni Center. Also speaking was former State Rep. Tony VanVliet of Corvallis.

The registry started when the college observed its 75th anniversary as a way of recognizing the agricultural and community achievements of those 75 and older.

Those honored this year, by county, are:

  • BENTON Rodney Frakes, Norman Goetze, Roy Hathaway and Harry Mack, all of Corvallis;


  • CLACKAMAS Royal Brooks, Wilsonville; Frank Fobert, Hubbard; Donald Michael, West Linn;


  • COOS Lynn Cannon, Coquille;


  • HOOD RIVER David Burkhart, Hood River;


  • JACKSON Beryl Elmore, Applegate; Gordon Stanley, Eagle Point; Robert and Virginia Vogel, Talent;


  • KLAMATH Gerda Hyde, Chiloquin;


  • LAKE Alan Withers, Paisley;


  • LANE Morris Culver, Eugene;


  • LINN Jack Kalina, Albany;


  • MALHEUR Delores Scott, Jordan Valley;


  • MARION Howard Mader, Aumsville;


  • MORROW Bob and Suzanne Jepsen, Merlyn Robinson and Shirley Rugg, all of Heppner;


  • UMATILLA Donald Hawkins, Pendleton; Maurice and Donna Johns, Athena; Gerald Terjeson, Helix; Stan Timmermann, Pendleton;


  • WASCO Virgil Ellett, The Dalles;


  • WASHINGTON Arnold "Dale" Scheller, Hillsboro;


  • NEVADA, DOUGLAS Cecil Pierce, Fallon, Nevada.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Loretta Mason, 541-737-2331