CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University Extension Service honored numerous individual and groups as Friends of Extension and Extension Cooperators during a recent Extension conference at OSU.

The Friends of Extension awards are given by the Oregon chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi, a national organization of Extension professionals.

"The OSU Extension Service's cooperator awards are intended to honor the dedication and leadership of individual volunteers and organizations that have had significant impacts on statewide Extension educational programs," said Tonya Aitkin, Wasco County Extension agent and public relations chair of the OSU Extension Association.

The list of those honored includes Holly Weimar, Arlington; Esther McKibben, Springfield; Ruth Carson, Marcola; Matt Epstein, Jacksonville; Oscarlee Fenton, Grants Pass; Paul Mickles, Eugene; Peggy Thomas, Eugene; Barbara Kreilich, Scio; Lisa Lilley, Astoria; Roberta Hellman, Hillsboro; Morrow County School District, Lexington; the administrative team of the OSU College of Business, Corvallis.

Friends of Extension

  • Holly Weimar was named a Friend of Extension for leadership to the Oregon 4-H Foundation. She is 4-H Foundation president and has been a trustee for 11 years. During her tenure, the foundation improved facilities at the 4-H Youth Conference and Education Center near Salem, developed and received several grants for Oregon 4-H programs, and increased donations to Oregon 4-H programs and the 4-H Foundation. 
  • Esther McKibben was honored for her support of Extension Service educational programs in Douglas County since 1950. She has been active as an Extension and community volunteer for many years helping to organize and conduct numerous educational and community events.
  • Ruth Carson, an Extension volunteer in Lane County for the past 44 years, received recognition for her contributions as a member of Extension Homemakers' Study Groups and as an Extension 4-H Youth program leader.
  • The administrative team of the OSU College of Business was honored for its support of the OSU Extension Service's Business and Information Technology education initiative. The group - including Ilene Kleinsorge, dean; Jim Coakley, associate dean; Roger Graham, Eric Larson, Tony Saxman and Dave Sullivan - helped provide $25,000 in donated equipment and helped support workshops and the BIT Mobile - Extension's new wireless technology classroom on wheels.

Extension Cooperators

  • Matt Epstein was cited for his service as an Extension Master Gardener volunteer and as a member of the Jackson County Master Gardener Association Executive Board. Epstein was cited as a collaborator who bridges gaps between the environmental community, timber industry, and natural resource agencies.
  • Oscarlee Fenton's was recognized for contributions as a volunteer in the Extension Master Gardener program and for his help in creating both the Hospital Healing Garden and the Jack Krull Memorial Garden in Jackson County. In 2003, Fenton was voted "Master Gardener of the Year" having donated 700 hours of volunteer time.
  • Paul Mickles was recognized for his leadership and advocacy in support of Lane County Extension educational programs. Mickles has been a Lane County Extension volunteer for the past six years and has been active in the Extension Master Gardener program answering gardening questions on the Extension home gardening telephone hotline.
  • Peggy Thomas received a cooperator award for donating hundreds of hours of her time as an Extension Family Food Education program volunteer, Extension Master Gardener, and general office volunteer in the Lane County Extension Service office over the past three years.
  • Barbara Kreilich was honored for volunteer support of the OSU Extension 4-H Youth Development program in Linn County during the past two decades. She is a 4-H club leader and 4-H clothing, knitting, crocheting and horticulture superintendent at the Linn County Fair.
  • Lisa Lilley was recognized for contributions to the OSU Extension 4-H Youth program in Clatsop County the past 27 years. She has served as a volunteer 4-H club leader, and 4-H dog show superintendent and expressive arts superintendent at the Clatsop County Fair.
  • Roberta Hellman, division manager of Washington County Health and Human Services, was cited for her support of Extension programs in Washington County. She helped forge a partnership between OSU Extension and the Washington County Health Department to provide nutrition education classes to residents, and she helped create a summer nutrition program for the Beaverton School District.
  • The Morrow County School District received special recognition for cooperation in building partnerships between public school programs and OSU Extension 4-H youth programs. Examples in the district include Ag in the Classroom programs, the Hispanic Youth Leadership program, the "Power Up" computer lab, indoor soccer programs, and a GPS/GIS community mapping project. Morrow School District administrators and teachers named as cooperators include Dirk Dirksen, Kathie Goad, Ron Anthony, B.J. Wilson, Dave Fowler and Wade Smith.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Tonya Aitkin, 541-296-5494