CORVALLIS - Faculty and staff of the College of Science at Oregon State University were recently recognized with a number of awards for exceptional research, teaching, or advising.

Each faculty member received an engraved plaque and a stipend, and a reception followed the award ceremony. Those honored included:

  • Edward Waymire, Department of Mathematics, the Milton Harris Award in Basic Research;
  • Jane Lubchenco, Department of Zoology, the F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science;
  • Kevin Ahern, Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics, the Frederick Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching Science;
  • Laurence Becker, Department of Geosciences, the Loyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Graduate Teaching;
  • Mark Patterson, Department of Botany & Plant Pathology, the Loyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Undergraduate Teaching;
  • Linda Bruslind, Department of Microbiology, the Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Academic Advising;
  • Joanne Van Geest, Department of Geosciences, the Gladys Valley Exemplary Administrative Support Award;
  • C. Samuel Bradford, Department of Zoology, and S. Mark Meyers, Department of Geosciences, the Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant Award.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Sherman Bloomer,