CORVALLIS, Ore. – The College of Engineering at Oregon State University honored 38 of its most distinguished alumni Feb. 23 during the ninth annual Oregon Stater Awards, an event that recognizes OSU engineers and their career contributions to society.

The annual ceremony inducts OSU engineering alumni into three different groups based on the length of their careers and accomplishments: the Engineering Hall of Fame, the Academy of Distinguished Engineers and the Council of Outstanding Early Career Engineers.

This year’s awardees are affiliated with both large and small companies, such as Tektronix, Intel, PGE, Xerox, HP and others, as well as major government agencies, the U.S. armed forces and universities. Honorees also include entrepreneurs like Catherine Mater of Mater Engineering, who started their own companies and built them into success stories.

Among this year’s Hall of Fame awardees are Jay Mackie, the first chemical engineer hired by CH2M HILL; Steven Campbell, former CEO of Cisco Systems; David Schlegel, former dean of the College of Natural Resources at the University of California, Berkeley; Dale Laurance, president of Occidental Chemical Corporation; William Jabs, former president and CEO of Portland’s W&H Pacific, Inc.; Ken Durant, former president of IDC; Dwayne Foley, former chief engineer at Northwest Natural; Keith Slack, a former vice president at IBM Microelectronics; Michael Inoue, former vice president of corporate technology and planning at Kyocera; and Don Mausshardt, a senior executive with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the Environmental Protection Agency.

“The Oregon Stater Awards ceremony is our way of expressing our gratitude to our most exemplary alumni,” said Chris Bell, associate dean of the College of Engineering. “These men and women have done extraordinary things to improve the world, and this is our way of honoring who they are, the work they have done and their connection to Oregon State University.”

The annual awards banquet, held at the CH2M HILL Alumni Center on campus, was attended by more than 250 people. The event takes place every year during National Engineers Week, a week of national engineering events and celebration.

The complete list of 2007 Oregon Stater awardees includes:


  • Kenneth Durant, Dundee
  • Dwayne Foley, Oak Grove
  • Keith Slack, Canby
  • William Jabs, Eagle Creek
  • Jay Mackie, Wilsonville
  • Donald Mausshardt, Klamath Falls
  • Dale Laurance, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
  • Michael Inoue, San Diego, Calif.
  • David Schlegel, Moraga, Calif.
  • Steven Campbell, Los Gatos, Calif.

  • Douglas Tindall, Salem
  • Carmen Tseng, Tigard
  • Timothy Weber, Corvallis
  • Kevin Clarke, Lake Oswego
  • Joseph Danko, Philomath
  • Timothy Dunn, Tigard
  • Catherine Mater, Corvallis
  • William Nicholson, Portland
  • Craig Overhage, Beaverton
  • Michael Park, Portland
  • Barry Rahimian, West Linn
  • Roderick Ray, Bend
  • James Rise Lake, Oswego
  • William Roesch, Portland
  • William Peterson, Annapolis, Md.
  • Pradip Banerjee, San Jose, Calif.
  • David Skillern, Sunnyvale, Calif.
  • Anton Skoro, Vancouver, Wash.
  • Parke Ball, Vancouver, Wash.
  • Mo Jamshidi, San Antonio, Texas
  • Steven Stockton , Alexandria, Va.

  • Michael Baker, Portland
  • Matt Boyd, Portland
  • Ryan Fujimoto, Gresham
  • Bradley Hogan, Wilsonville
  • Scott Kveton, Corvallis
  • Eric Rockett, Kennewick, Wash.
  • Sanjay Vancheeswaran, Irvine, Calif.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Chris Bell,