CORVALLIS, Ore. - Leaders in government, scientific research, conservation and industry were recently honored at the Oregon State University College of Forestry annual “Fernhopper” awards ceremony, which also marked the end of the college’s centennial year.

Seven distinguished alumni received the Outstanding Alumnus Award, which acknowledges College of Forestry graduates from across the natural resources spectrum who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and/or programs of the college. Recipients include:

  • John Bell (’49), an OSU faculty member for 26 years and a leading forest biometrician, has delivered an annual short course on variable probability sampling for 50 years. He is author of the book, “Log Scaling and Timber Cruising,” a staple of the forestry profession for decades.
  • Randy Clark (M.S., ’86) has been instrumental over the past decade in developing and directing research and development capabilities for JELD-WEN, a leader in the door and window marketplace, with more than 20,000 employees worldwide.
  • Barry Goodell (M.S. ’80, Ph.D. ‘84), professor and program leader in the wood science and technology program at the University of Maine, is a founding member of the Maine Advanced Engineered Wood Composites Center.
  • George Ice (Ph.D. ’78) is a scientist with the National Council for Air and Stream Improvement (NCASI) and a strong advocate for science-based regulation of forest practices that may affect water quality and aquatic habitat.
  • Norman E. Johnson (’55, M.F. ’56) is a forest entomologist who worked up through the ranks of Weyerhaeuser Company, culminating as a senior vice president in the 1990s.
  • Abigail “Gail” Kimbell (M.F. ’82) is the 16th chief of the U.S. Forest Service and the first woman to lead the organization; she is responsible for overseeing 155 national forests, 30,000 employees, and a budget of nearly $5 billion.
  • David Neale (Ph.D. ’84), a long-time researcher with the Pacific Southwest Research Station of the Forest Service, and now professor at University of California, Davis, is among the top molecular forest geneticists in the world
  • .

Two individuals who have made a significant contribution to forestry and natural resources in Oregon or the college, but who are not alumni, were recognized as “Honorary Fernhoppers”: Matt Hill, legislative assistant to Sen. Gordon Smith; and Alan Preston, vice president of research for Viance, a joint venture between Rhom and Haas and Chemical Specialties, Inc.

Hill has helped maintain special grant funding for the Center for Wood Utilization research and has helped secure initial federal support for the Watersheds Research Cooperative. Preston spearheaded a project to develop new wood preservatives, laying the groundwork for a global shift away from chromium- and arsenic-based wood preservatives and toward more environmentally friendly products.

The Aufderheide Award for Excellence in Teaching went to John Bailey, an associate professor of forest resources; the Julie Kliewer Outstanding Mentor Award went to Clay Torset, head adviser in Student Services.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Hal Salwasser,