CORVALLIS, Ore. - The College of Business at Oregon State University honored some of the state's most prominent business professionals and educators during the 2008 Centennial Alumni and Business Partner Awards Dinner in Portland on May 1.

In addition to recognizing community leaders, the event celebrated the college's 100-year anniversary.

The most notable award went to Donald L. Bower, who was inducted into the college's Hall of Fame. The award is given to individuals for their sustained and meritorious business contributions throughout their careers.

Bower ('48) had a 38-year career with Chevron and served as a director of the company for more than 17 years. A native of Portland, he was recognized for his years of service in the corporation's exploration, production and oilfield land activities, as well as personnel and labor relations.

Awards were presented in four other categories as well.

Stephen J. Nigro with Hewlett-Packard Company won the Distinguished Business Partners award, which honors non-alumni or companies who have distinguished themselves through professional practice and service. As senior vice president of the Graphics and Imaging Business of Hewlett-Packard, Nigro was recognized for his leadership in developing new printing and non-printing technologies and solutions.

Joshua D. Bruegman ('02), a vice president and wealth manager of JPMorgan Private Bank, received the Distinguished Young Business Professionals award. Bruegman advises high-net worth families, senior executives, and mid-size foundations and endowments.

Brian A. Oliver ('87) received the Distinguished Early Career Business Professionals award. As the executive vice president for Aequitas Capital Management, Oliver has been involved in facilitating more than $500 million in financial transactions for the alternative investment management firm headquartered in Portland.

Stephen M. Bailey ('70) won the Distinguished Business Professionals award for his work as the CFO and senior vice president of finance for FLIR Systems, Inc, a thermal imaging company. Bailey helped grow FLIR Systems to a 1,700-employee operation with revenues expected to exceed $1 billion for 2008.

As a tribute to its centennial, the OSU College of Business acknowledged another 100 influential alumni and business partners at the awards ceremony. For a complete list of the centennial honorees, go to and click on "awards publication."


2008 Outstanding High School Business Educator Awards

The Portland Tribune and Community Newspapers and the OSU College of Business have collaborated to create an award that will be presented annually to recognize outstanding Oregon and southwest Washington high school business educators.

The inaugural "Outstanding High School Business Educator Awards" recognizes five high school teachers whose efforts have improved student achievement, used innovative and exemplary instructional strategies and enhanced student learning of business concepts. Award winners received a $500 cash prize and recognition at the OSU College of Business' 2008 Centennial Alumni & Business Partner Awards Dinner.

In evaluating business educator of the year nominees, judges reviewed each nominee's philosophy in teaching business concepts and how their efforts improved business education in innovative ways. Judges also evaluated nominees on their efforts to introduce students to the global marketplace, use classroom and outside experiences to advance learning, build student academic achievement, and promote the business profession as a career goal for students.

"We are very pleased to partner with the OSU College of Business in honoring outstanding high school business teachers," said Steve Clark, president of the Portland Tribune and Community Newspapers. "We are strong advocates of education. And we also believe that it is through a healthy, sustainable and growing economy that we provide for great communities, a great state and fund important public services.

"We look forward to working with the OSU College of Business to expand the annual Outstanding High School Business Educator awards program," Clark added.

The five Outstanding High School Business Educator Award winners are: Jon Abel of North Salem High School, Salem, Ore. Rollie Marshall of Nyssa High School, Nyssa, Ore. Melinda McClure of Phoenix High School, Phoenix, Ore. Mark Siegel of the Delphian School, Sheridan, Ore. Adriann Spencer of Centennial High School, Gresham, Ore.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Thuy Tran