CORVALLIS, Ore. – Seventeen 4-H high school students from Oregon have been chosen to attend the National 4-H Congress during Thanksgiving weekend in Atlanta, Ga.

More than 1,300 4-H members from all 50 states and Puerto Rico will attend the congress, which is often the highlight of a 4-H member's career. Delegates hear inspirational speakers, participate in cultural workshops, take part in a large-scale community service project and visit historical sites near Atlanta.

A state committee of the Oregon State University Extension 4-H Youth Development Program selects delegates based on overall achievement in 4-H projects, leadership, communication, citizenship, community service and readiness to benefit from Congress. Finalists are chosen for National 4-H Congress in June at the State 4-H Summer Conference at OSU.

Delegates chosen for the 2008 National 4-H Congress are:

  • Corvallis: David Baglien, Jonathon Brink-Roby, Rob Livesay
  • Condon: Lisa Wade
  • Cottage Grove: Shelby Stepper
  • Cove: Kelby McClelland
  • Elmira: Amanda Smith
  • Estacada: Nathan McCarty
  • Forest Grove: Hannah Filicky
  • Grants Pass: Ilaena Mellentine
  • Keizer: Emilie Boatner
  • Portland: Annie Kersting, Audrey Marconi
  • Redmond: Cody Smith
  • Sandy: Michelle Janik
  • St. Helens: Thomas Kyle-Milward
  • Summerville: Ariana Snow

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Helen Pease,