PORTLAND, Ore. – Exceeding expectations is a common trait found among the four recipients of the second annual Outstanding High School Business Educator Awards. The honors are presented annually to recognize outstanding Oregon and southwest Washington high school business educators.

Four high school teachers – whose efforts have improved student achievement, demonstrated innovative and exemplary instructional strategies and enhanced student learning of business concepts – each received a $500 cash prize and recognition at the OSU College of Business 2009 Alumni & Business Partner Awards event held in Portland on May 7. The Portland Tribune and Community Newspapers and the OSU College of Business created the awards last year.

The judges for this year’s awards were Steve Clark, president of the Portland Tribune and Community Newspapers, and Ilene Kleinsorge, dean of the College of Business at Oregon State University.

“Going the extra mile for their students is a theme we see in all the honorees,” Clark said. “We found that through long hours of off-the-clock teaching and dedicated mentoring by these highly motivated educators, it is the students that become the real winners.”

Kleinsorge said, “Several of these teachers used scholastic clubs and national business student societies to create notions of teamwork, competition and recognition – hallmarks of successful enterprises. They motivated their students to achieve beyond their individual capabilities and toward a common goal.”

In evaluating business educator of the year nominees, judges reviewed each nominee’s philosophy in teaching business concepts and how their efforts improved business education in innovative ways. Judges also evaluated nominees on their efforts to introduce students to the global marketplace, use classroom and outside experiences to advance learning, build student academic achievement, and promote the business profession as a career goal for students. Administrators, fellow teachers, and even some of their students nominated the instructors.

The four Outstanding High School Business Educator Award winners for 2009 are:

• Sonja Holcomb of Elkton High School, Elkton, Ore.,
• John Dixon of South Salem High School, Salem, Ore.
• Frank Drew of Lost River Jr/Sr High School, Merrill, Ore.
• Michael Gump, Lake Oswego High School, Lake Oswego, Ore.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Thuy Tran,