CORVALLIS, Ore. - Fifteen 4-H high school students from throughout the state have been selected as the Oregon delegation to attend the National 4-H Congress in Atlanta, Ga., during Thanksgiving weekend.

More than 1,300 4-H members from all 50 states and Puerto Rico attend the congress, which is often the highlight of a 4-H member's career. Delegates hear inspirational speakers, participate in cultural workshops, take part in a large-scale community service project and visit historical sites near Atlanta.

A state committee of the Oregon State University Extension 4-H Youth Development ProgramĀ  ( selects delegates based on overall achievement in 4-H projects, leadership, communication, citizenship and community service. Finalists were chosen for National 4-H Congress in June at the State 4-H summer conference at OSU.

Delegates chosen for the 2010 National 4-H Congress are:

Beavercreek: Brooklyn Nelson
Carlton: Andrea Hunter
Cheshire: Marisa Owens
Corvallis: Peter Baglien and Elli Vanderzanden
Imbler: Emilee Patterson
Lake Oswego: Olivia Vollan
McMinnville: Josh Knutz
Milwaukie: Maggie Means
Newberg: Kory Blake
Philomath: Kiah Gourley and Kayla Thorsness
Roseburg: Shelby Henrikson
Sherwood: Megan Biggi
Tigard: Rebecca Garner

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Helen Pease, 541-737-1314