CORVALLIS, Ore. - Oregon State University has announced the 2011 recipients of The Horning Support Program for Humanistic Scholarship spring awards. These awards, which total nearly $50,000, are awarded to faculty who demonstrate excellence in improving and extending the teaching of humanities to the sciences and other disciplines at OSU.

The Mary Jones and Thomas Hart Horning Endowment was created through a bequest to the university from the late Benjamin B. Horning, an OSU alumnus who went on to a distinguished career in medical education and philanthropy. Horning saw the need for a deeper understanding of the humanities by students in the sciences and other technical areas. The endowment was designed to create a closer link between science and the humanities.

Spring 2011 awards were made in the following categories:

Visiting speakers and conferences:

Peter Betjemann, English

Marisa Chappell, History

Lisa Ede, English

Christopher J. Marshall, Zoology

Kathleen Dean Moore, Philosophy


Mina Carson, History

Sharyn Clough, Philosophy

Michelle Inderbitzin, Sociology

Paul Kopperman, History

David McMurray, Anthropology

Nancy Rosenberger, Anthropology

Lisa Sarasohn, History

Stuart Ray Sarbacker, Philosophy

Tara Williams, English

Guy H. Wood, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Program development:

Joan Gross, Anthropology

Carly Lettero, Environmental Humanities Initiative

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Elissa Curcio, 541-737-8560