CORVALLIS, Ore. - The College of Science at Oregon State University recently honored a number of its faculty and staff for their accomplishments over the past year.

Tevian Dray of the Department of Mathematics and Richard Nafshun of the Department of Chemistry received the Loyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Undergraduate Teaching, the oldest award given by the college. It recognizes faculty who have distinguished themselves in teaching. 

Stephen Giovannoni of the Department of Microbiology received the F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science, recognizing a body of scholarly work that has made a lasting impact on its field and on OSU.  It is the highest honor that the college awards to a member of its faculty, and Giovannoni will be the presenter at the F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award Lecture in 2012. 

Other awards included:

  • Peter Clark of the Department of Geosciences and Paul Blakemore of the Department of Chemistry received the Loyd Carter Awards for Outstanding and Inspirational Graduate Teaching.
  • Torri Givigliano of the Department of Zoology received the Gladys Valley Award for Exemplary Administrative Support, which recognizes dedicated and talented support staff.
  • Kevin Ahern of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics received the Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Academic Advising.
  • David McIntyre of the Department of Physics received the Frederick H. Horne Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching Science.
  • Jeffrey Morré was the recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant Award.
  • Bob Mason received the Milton Harris Award in Basic Research, recognizing exceptional achievement in basic research, particularly in a distinct area that has had significant impact on its field.


Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.