CORVALLIS, Ore. - Sixteen high school students from across Oregon received state 4-H scholarship awards in March through the Oregon State University Extension Service 4-H Youth Development Program.

More than 80 Oregon 4-H members competed for the scholarships, which range from $500 to $4,500. They were evaluated on their high scholastic achievement, 4-H projects and achievements, and personal essay describing their growth in 4-H.

A group of 10 4-H agents and volunteers from counties across the state, led by Mary Arnold, 4-H specialist in research and program evaluation, selected the scholarship winners.

Recipients of the 2012 State 4-H Scholarship Awards are listed below:

 Colton: Heidi Axmaker, Klein-Youngberg Family, $1,250;

Corvallis: Joshua Edwards, CHS Foundation, $1,000; Meredith Truax, Hofer, $1,500;

Eagle Creek: Kayla Cochran, Theiss Memorial, $1,000;

Gold Beach: Denise Craig/Parry, A. Lois Redman, $500;

Grants Pass: Caleb Lennon, Dietz Memorial, $500;

Heppner: Rebecca Jepsen, Myers Memorial, $1,000;

Hillsboro: Matthew Ferguson, O.M. Plummer, $500;

Imbler: Emilee Patterson, Klein-Youngberg Family, $1,250;

Independence: Emma Miller, Oregon 4-H Foundation Memorial, $1,000;

Lake Oswego: Colleen Moore, Martha MacGregor, $4,500; Olivia Vollan, Ellwood Miller Memorial, $1,000;

Madras: Kristin Jasa, Duane Johnson, $500;

Medford: Nicholas Morales, Klein-Youngberg Family, $1,250;

Roseburg: Sarah Gordon, Leeson Memorial, $1,000;

The Dalles: Carly Lowe, Minnick Memorial, $1,000.

 More information about the OSU 4-H Youth Development Program is available at

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Helen Pease, 541-737-1314