CORVALLIS, Ore. - Oregon State University will honor three of its most dedicated volunteers at the Destination OSU awards banquet in Phoenix, Ariz., on Sunday, March 10.

"Our 2013 honorees - Ken Poorman, Ken Noteboom and Dale Weber - have made a profound impact on Oregon State," said OSU President Edward J. Ray. "The time, energy and expertise they have so freely given have created opportunities for countless students and strengthened our university for years to come."

Poorman, of Portland, will receive the OSU Foundation's highest honor, the Lifetime Trustee Award. Beginning in 1981, Poorman served on the foundation's Board of Trustees for 25 years, including service as president and chairman.

A 1961 alumnus and the retired founder of Poorman-Douglas Corporation, Poorman continues to serve his alma mater through the College of Business Dean's Circle of Excellence. He was a charter member of the college's advisory council and served on the founding board of the Oregon Executive M.B.A. program, in addition to service on OSU athletic boards.

Poorman joins other lifetime trustees: Joan D. Austin, Newberg; Robert W. Lundeen, Deer Harbor, Wash.; and Portland residents C. W. Knodell, Norbert J. Wellman and Benjamin R. Whiteley.

The OSU Department of Intercollegiate Athletics has chosen a 1959 alumnus, Kenneth W. Noteboom of Junction City, to receive the Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award. Chaves was captain of the 1942 Rose Bowl team and became an influential booster in various fundraising activities. The annual award is presented to people who have made outstanding contributions to OSU athletics.

A four-year wrestling letterman and president of his senior class, Noteboom created and co-chairs a committee designed to ensure the perpetuity of OSU's wrestling program. He organized class reunions for 45 years and co-chaired the Class of 1959 Golden Jubilee Committee that raised funds for the CH2M-Hill Alumni Center labyrinth plus an endowed scholarship. A retired banker and Marine, Noteboom has served as president of the Albany and Junction City Chambers of Commerce and the Albany Boys and Girls Club.

The OSU Alumni Association will present the Dan Poling Service Award to professor emeritus Weber of Corvallis. Named for an influential dean of men who served the university for more than five decades, the award recognizes those who have volunteered a significant amount of time to Oregon State, carrying on Poling's legacy.

Weber taught in the Department of Animal Sciences for 22 years and served as president of the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture. Among other innovations in the College of Agricultural Sciences, he instituted a self-learning center, helped launch the Steer-a-Year program and led the formation of the college's internship support program. Since his retirement, "Doc" has continued to teach classes, counsel students and volunteer thousands of hours to the university and community.

The 13th annual Destination OSU event will take place in Phoenix for the first time. Almost 3,000 Oregon State graduates live in Arizona: the largest concentration of alumni beyond Oregon, Washington and California.

Centered at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, the March 8-10 event includes faculty presentations, golf, a cocktail party hosted by the alumni association and local excursions, in addition to the Sunday night awards gala. For more information, go to:

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Michelle Williams, 541-737-6126