CORVALLIS - The College of Liberal Arts at Oregon State University has honored its top faculty and staff for their achievements.

Kay Schaffer, dean of the college, presented certificates and awards during a recent reception.

  • Mary Jo Nye, the Horning Professor of Humanities in history, received the CLA Excellence Award for her teaching, scholarship and service. This top CLA honor includes a $10,000 cash award, made possible by gifts from members of the College of Liberal Arts Advisory Council.  Nye, a nationally recognized expert on the history of science, has presented several important papers and delivered a keynote address at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
  • Kurt Peters, a professor of ethnic studies, was presented with the C. Warren Hovland Service Award for his service to the college, the university and Native American students and communities.
  • Evelyn Reynolds, office coordinator for the Department of Ethnic Studies, received the Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award for her contributions to a positive, productive environment.
  • Rolf Fare, a professor of economics, received the Researcher of the Year Award for his studies on the impact of environmental regulations on social welfare in various sectors of the U.S. economy.
  • Juan Antonio "Tony" Trujillo, an assistant professor of Spanish, received the Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award for his work in curriculum development and the creation of undergraduate and graduate minors in linguistics.
  • Deanna Kingston, a professor of anthropology, was honored with the ECLAT Faculty Development Award for her work in investigating the impact of globalization on three island communities in the North Bering Strait.

The College of Liberal Arts also announced its fourth biennial class of "Master Teachers," chosen to teach freshmen discovery courses. This innovative program targets some of the college's best faculty to teach groups of 25 freshmen in a series of courses linked by content.

Master teachers for 2001-03 include Chris Anderson, English; Courtney Campbell, Philosophy; Elizabeth "Betty" Campbell, English; Natalie Dollar, Speech Communication; Kayla Garcia, Foreign Languages and Literatures; Robert Iltis, Speech Communication; Jon Katz, History; Sunil Khanna, Anthropology; and Kurt Peters, Ethnic Studies.

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.


Barbara Melton, 541-737-8809