CORVALLIS, Ore. - Seven people from across the state were inducted into the Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame this month during an Oregon State University Outreach and Engagement awards banquet.

The Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2004 to recognize those who have had a significant impact upon the OSU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program and its members and leaders. One hundred people were inducted in 2004 - one person for each year 4-H had existed in Oregon - and more honorees are added each year.

The 2008 Hall of Fame inductees are: Leonard Aplet, Oregon 4-H Foundation; John Grimes, Polk County; Francis and Myrtle Krouse, Jackson County; Bruce Moos, Benton County and State Fair; Sherm and Wanda Olsrud, Jackson County; Jackie Shirley, Tillamook County; and Esther Taskerud, state 4-H office.

As a trustee and secretary/treasurer of the Oregon 4-H Foundation, Aplet has brought leadership and expertise to the financial management of the foundation and funded the development of a personal finance curriculum for the state 4-H program.

Grimes was the 4-H agent in Polk County from 1953 to 1970 before moving on to Wheeler and Clatsop counties until he retired in 1977. In eight years, the number of 4-H youth enrolled in Polk county doubled, pre-fair training attendance exceeded 450 participants and more than 70 members from Polk County attended the annual 4-H Summer Conference on the OSU campus.

Francis and Myrtle Krouse were supporters of the 4-H program in Jackson County, beginning in 1949. Francis started a beef club and shortly after became involved with the Jackson County 4-H Leaders Board. Myrtle served on many committees and the county 4-H executive board. She was active in the home Extension group in the Applegate Valley community where they lived and at the county level.

Moos has given more than 32 years to the Benton County 4-H program. For 10 years he led the Blodgett Tailtwisters 4-H club and then became a livestock resource leader, helping 4-H leaders and members throughout the county with livestock information.

Sherm and Wanda Olsrud have been a fixture at the Jackson County Junior Livestock Auction since the 1960s. In addition, they attend and support auctions in Douglas and Klamath counties and support Josephine county 4-H and FFA members. In 2008 they started college scholarships for youth in Jackson, Douglas, Klamath and Josephine counties.

Shirley has been instrumental with the 4-H program in Tillamook County since 1980 and has volunteered for many roles. She was part of the effort to establish the county-funded Tillamook County 4-H and Extension Service District in 1986.

Taskerud was a pioneer in the 4-H program, starting her career in Oregon in 1947. Her first assignment at OSU was as assistant 4-H program leader, with responsibility for the home economics program. She also served as district supervisor for Extension Services. These positions helped her provide statewide leadership for 4-H. As assistant OSU Extension director, she supported 4-H by employing the first child development specialist. She also provided leadership on the national level, serving as a trustee on the National 4-H Council.


Helen Pease,

Click photos to see a full-size version. Right click and save image to download.