The following Oregon State University faculty members have expertise related to hemp or marijuana and are willing to speak with journalists. Their specific expertise, and contact information, is listed below. For help with other OSU faculty experts, contact Sean Nealon, 541-737-0787, sean.nealon@oregonstate.edu.

Hemp

Jay Noller, 541-737-2821, jay.noller@oregonstate.edu

Noller serves as the inaugural director and lead researcher of the Global Hemp Innovation Center at Oregon State's Corvallis campus. A professor in OSU’s Department of Crop and Soil Science, he has conducted hemp field trials overseas for several years. His areas of expertise include:

  • OSU Global Hemp Innovation Center
  • Local, state and federal hemp law and policy
  • Hemp essential oils
  • Hemp agronomy

Richard Roseberg, 541-772-5165, richard.roseberg@oregonstate.edu

Roseberg serves as director of OSU’s Southern Oregon Research and Extension Center in Central Point. An associate professor of agronomy in OSU’s Department of Crop and Soil Science, he is a co-author on two OSU Extension publications, “What is Industrial Hemp?” and “Soil, Seedbed Preparation and Seeding for Hemp.” His areas of expertise include:

  • Hemp production in southern Oregon
  • Hemp agronomy

Gordon Jones, 541-771-7371, ext. 230, gordon.jones@oregonstate.edu

Jones is an assistant professor of practice in OSU’s Department of Crop and Soil Science and OSU Extension commercial agriculture specialist in Jackson and Josephine counties. His areas of expertise include:

  • Hemp agronomy

Lloyd Nackley, 971-801-0385, lloyd.Nackley@oregonstate.edu

Nackley is an assistant professor and OSU Extension research leader for greenhouse and nursery production at the North Willamette Research and Extension Center in Aurora, about 20 miles south of Portland. His areas of expertise include:

  • Hemp agronomy

Jeffrey Steiner, 541-737-9119, jeffrey.steiner@oregonstate.edu

Steiner is the associate director of the OSU Global Hemp Innovation Center. His areas of expertise include:

  • OSU Global Hemp Innovation Center
  • Hemp agronomy

Kelly Vining, 541-737-0646, kelly.vining@oregonstate.edu

Vining is an assistant professor in OSU’s Department of Horticulture. Her areas of expertise include:

  • Hemp genomics and bioinformatics

Marijuana

David Kerr, 541-737-1364, david.kerr@oregonstate.edu

Kerr serves as the director of graduate education in the School of Psychological Science. His areas of expertise include:

  • Public health effects of recreational (non-medical) marijuana legalization
  • Cannabis use by adolescents and young adults

Anita Cservenka, 541-737-1366, anita.cservenka@oregonstate.edu

Cservenka is an assistant professor in the School of Psychological Science in the College of Liberal Arts. She is director of the Substance Use & Neurocognition (SUN) Lab. Her areas of expertise include:

  • Marijuana use and neurocognitive effects
  • Marijuana use and brain development
  • Marijuana use in adolescents and young adults

Jane Ishmael, 541-737-5783, jane.ishmael@oregonstate.edu

Ishmael is an associate professor of pharmacology in the College of Pharmacy. She served on the Retail Marijuana Scientific Advisory Committee for the Oregon Health Authority in 2015-16, in preparation for the opening of the retail cannabis market in Oregon. In 2015, she was appointed to an Oregon governor’s task force charged with researching the medical and public health properties of cannabis in Oregon. She also serves on the Hemp-Cannabis Working Group for the OSU Office of Research. Her areas of expertise include:

  • Medicinal properties of cannabis
  • Plant-derived cannabinoids and endocannabinoids
  • State and federal rules for the regulation of cannabis-based medicines
  • Oregon Medical Marijuana Program
  • Natural product drug discovery

Aimee Huff, 541-737-3688, aimee.huff@oregonstate.edu

Huff is an assistant professor of marketing in the College of Business. Her research explores consumer culture in contexts that are socially contentious, including recreational marijuana. Her areas of expertise include:

  • Consumer and non-consumer attitudes and acceptance of the market
  • The process of the market becoming more legitimate
  • Marketing and product design