CEOAS awards

Three Oregon State University faculty from the College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences have been named Fellows for The Oceanography Society: Robert Holman, Clare Reimers and Roger Samelson. The awards were announced May 28.

Holman is being honored for his pioneering work on the development of remote sensing tools and advancing the understanding of the world's evolving coastlines. Reimers has been recognized for advancing sedimentary redox chemistry and microbiology using oxygen, pH and pCO2 microelectrodes and leading the development of the next generation of regional class research vessels. Samelson's seminal, wide-ranging contributions on the theory of physical dynamics of the ocean earned him the award. 

Phi Beta Kappa awards

On Tuesday, May 22, the OSU Phi Beta Kappa hosted their annual PBK student-faculty dinner and awards ceremony. Please join the PBK community in congratulating Dr. Elizabeth Schroeder (Best Instructor, Lindsay Biga (Best Instructor Runner-up), Tristen Shay (Best Advisor), Stephanie Ramos (Best Mentor) and Dr. Marisa Chappell (Exemplary Phi Beta Kappa Member).  The Phi Beta Kappa (ΦΒΚ) Society is the oldest academic honor society for the liberal arts and sciences in the United States, founded in 1776. Selection for membership in Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest honors an undergraduate can achieve. Membership in Phi Beta Kappa remains one of the few nationally, and internationally, recognized marks of scholastic attainment. Phi Beta Kappa aims to promote and advocate excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and to induct only the most outstanding students in the arts and sciences.