Oregon State University faculty serving in the OSU Extension Service’s Family and Community Health (FCH) program in the College of Public Health and Human Sciences have a lot to be proud of this month. Out of 632 awards applications from 38 states, they took home three national first-place awards and several top recognitions from the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (NEAFCS), a professional organization for Extension FCH faculty and staff. 

“I am so proud of our almost unheard-of accomplishment of three first-place national team awards in the same year,” said Glenda Hyde, associate professor of practice in FCH serving Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson and Wheeler counties. “I think we all knew of the exceptional energy, innovation and creativity of our faculty members and partners to meet our community’s needs.” 

Those receiving awards are: 

  • Amanda Hatfield, Distinguished Service Award. In recognition of Extension FCS educators for leadership, outstanding programs and personal and professional growth. 
  • Glenda Hyde, Continued Excellence Award. In recognition of active involvement in professional improvement programs, promotion of professional development, and leadership. 
  • First Place National Award, First Place Western Region Winner, Extension Disaster Education Award. “Preparing for the Cascadia Subduction Zone Event.” Team: Glenda Hyde, Lynette Black, Lauren Kraemer, Patrick Corcoran, Marc Braverman and Alan Dennis. 
  • First Place National Winner, First Place Western Region Winner, School Wellness Award, “Be Physically Active 2 Day!” Team: Katie Ahern, Kathy Gunter, Barbara Brody, Lauren Kraemer, Amanda Hatfield, Carly Kristofik, Tina Dodge, Cheryl Kirk, Maureen Quinn Lores, Robin Maille, Jenny Rudolph, Joanne Lyford and Thomas Packebush. 
  • First Place National Winner, First Place Western Region Winner, Communications Television/Video Award, “Asynchronous (Recorded Video) lesson series for school-aged youth during the pandemic.” Team: Joanne Lyford, Jennifer Morris, Rachel Dillard, Rebecca Marson, Shara Anslow, Lauren Tobey and Stephanie Russell. 
  • Second Place National Winner, First Place Western Region Winner, Marketing Package Award. “Oregon State University Extension team launches high-speed hand washing campaign targeting parents and caregivers of young children during COVID-19 pandemic” Team: Lauren Kraemer, Glenda Hyde, Ann Marie Murphy, Greg Aronoff, Lauren Tobey, Joyce Senior, Shauna Tominey, Katie Ahern, Barbara Brody, Olivia Davis, Tina Dodge, Amanda Hatfield, Cheryl Kirk, Maureen Quinn Lores, Jenny Rudolph, Stephanie Russell and Breann Vandenberg. 

~ Kathryn Stroppel