Four Oregon State University juniors have been named 2019 Goldwater Scholars by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. United States institutions of higher education are allotted four nominations each: this incredible achievement marks the first time in OSU history that all four of our nominees have been named scholars:   

 Isabella Karabinas Field of Study: Life Sciences (Colleges of Science, Liberal Arts, and Honors: Majors in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Psychology with a minor in Chemistry)  Career Goal: After college, Isabella plan to pursue a doctoral degree in neuroscience and teach at the university level. Mentor(s): Álvaro Estévez, Conor Liston, John Edwards, Puja Parekh  

 Kendra Jackson Field of Study: Life Sciences (College of Science and Honors: Major in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Career Goal: Kendra will pursue an M.D./Ph.D. in molecular biology or genetics. She aims to conduct research in biochemical/epigenetic pathways that lead to cancer, and develop new therapies. Mentor(s): Michael Freitag 

 Kyzer Gerez Field of Study: Engineering (College of Engineering: Major in Nuclear Engineering with a minor in Political Science) Career Goal: Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering. Kyzer plans to carry out research in support of national/global security, such as nuclear nonproliferation, at a national laboratory. Mentor(s):  Steven Reese,  Gregg McKinney, Todd Palmer, Camille Palmer, Mitch Mannino, Garrett McMath  
 Ryan Tollefsen Field of Study: Physics and Astronomy (College of Science and Honors: Major in Physics)  Career Goal: Ph.D. in Physics. Research quantum cosmology and applications of nuclear fusion and teach at university. Mentor(s): Oksana Ostroverkhova, Alfredo Alexander-Katz, Steven Mayer, John Sukamto  
The OSU nomination committee includes faculty from the Colleges of Science and Engineering: Skip Rochefort and  Kelsey Stoerzinger from Chemical, Biological and Environmental Engineering; Kevin Gable from Chemistry; Bob Mason from Integrative Biology; Carlos Jensen from Computer Science and Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs; Ryan Mehl and Kari Van Zee from Biochemistry and Biophysics; and Rebecca Vega-Thurber from Microbiology. Student advising and nominations were coordinated by LeAnn Adam in the OSU Office of Prestigious Scholarships.  

 The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established by Congress in 1986 to serve as a living memorial to honor the lifetime work of Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years in the U.S. Senate.