Oregon State University is celebrating its 38th annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration this month with a variety of events. One of the most well-attended is the annual MLK Peace Breakfast, held in the Ch2M Hill Alumni Center with an at-capacity crowd. In addition to presentations and songs, the event features the presentation of a number of awards to OSU-affiliated folks who have made a significant difference to their community in the spirit of Martin Luther King.

The following is a list of this year’s award winners:

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award (new in 2020): Established in partnership with the OSU Alumni Association, this award recognizes alumni who have demonstrated a deep and abiding commitment to causes of social justice, diversity, equity and inclusion, and who exemplify and enrich OSU’s values of community, diversity, respect and social responsibility in their broader community and/or organization.

This year’s winners were Sharada Bose (BS CS, '84, MS CS, '88) and Dwight Roberson II.

Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award: Over a three-decade career at Oregon State, the late Oscar Humberto Montemayor served the OSU community with diligence and grace. He was limitlessly dedicated to the succees of students. The Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award honors an Oregon State student who embodies Oscar’s ethos of selfless service; steady, strong, considerate leadership; and a trailblazing spirit and heart.

This year’s winners were Ruta Faifaiese, an undergraduate student studying Human Development and Family Sciences with the option of Human Services, and Winston Kennedy, a PhD student within the Kinesiology program (Adapted Physical Activity option).

Frances Dancy Hooks Award:

The Frances Dancy Hooks Award was first awarded in 1994 when Frances Dancy Hooks, a longtime civil rights activist, and her husband Reverend Benjamin Hooks, former executive director of the NAACP, spoke at the Celebration Peace Breakfast. The award recognizes Oregon State students, staff or faculty who exemplify Frances Dancy Hooks’ work of building bridges across cultures, showing courage in promoting diversity and proudly “walking the talk.”

This year’s winner was Erika McCalpine, an instructor in business with OSU-Cascades.

Phyllis S. Lee Award: To honor Phyllis S. Lee, former director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs, President Edward J. Ray created this award in 2004. It honors an Oregon State community member who exemplifies Phyllis S. Lee’s commitment to social justice and the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

This year’s winner was President Edward J. Ray.