A number of Oregon State University affiliated authors have been named finalists for the Oregon Book Awards. Sponsored by Literary Arts, the Oregon Book Awards program honors the accomplishments of the state’s finest writers who work in genres of poetry, fiction, graphic literature, drama, literary nonfiction and literature for young readers.

Three books published by Oregon State University Press are finalists: Mary Emerick, author of “The Last Layer of the Ocean: Kayaking through Love and Loss on Alaska's Wild Coast,” is a finalist in creative nonfiction; tina ontiveros, author of “rough house: a memoir” is  a finalist in creative nonfiction; and Kenneth Helphand is a finalist in general nonfiction for “Hops: Historic Photographs of the Oregon Hopscape.”

Kathleen Dean Moore, distinguished professor emeritus, is a finalist in general nonfiction for “Earth’s Wild Music: Celebrating and Defending the Songs of the Natural World” (Counterpoint Press). OSU Poet-in-Residence David Biespiel is a finalist in creative nonfiction for “A Place of Exodus: Home, Memory, and Texas” (Kelson Books). Jacob Hamblin, professor of history, is a finalist in general nonfiction for “The Wretched Atom: America’s Global Gamble with Peaceful Nuclear Technology” (Oxford University Press).

Additionally, OSU alum Irene Cooper is a finalist in poetry for “spare change” (Finishing Line Press).

 See the full list of finalists here. The winners will be announced at an in-person awards ceremony on Monday, April 25, at The Armory theater in Portland. Tickets are available here. Virtual events featuring the finalists are scheduled for later in March.